Conversations with My Mother: The Papers

Published July 10, 2014 by Rebecca Martin

Me: One of the local community theaters is doing a play called “The Papers”. I’m going to audition.

Mom: When is the play?

Me: Auditions are in December, rehearsals start in January, the play runs for two or three weekends starting at the end of February.

Mom: (reminiscing) Years ago, when we lived in Norfolk, I tried out for a play. It was a comedy about an ingenue; that’s all I knew about it. I kept laughing when I was supposed to be reading. It was funny, I couldn’t help it. (beat) They didn’t put me in the play. 

Me: Yeah, that happens sometimes. I laughed yesterday while reading for a part in an audition I went to. I couldn’t help it either. This play was really funny.

Mom: Was that audition yesterday for “The Papers”?

Me: (disbelief) Mom, when are auditions for “The Papers”?

Mom: (giggling as she realizes) Oh. Right.

Me: (repeating, annoyed) Mom, when are auditions for “The Papers”?

Mom: December.

Me: And what month is this? Is it December? No, because it’s hot out, isn’t it?

Mom: (still giggling slightly) Okay, I’m not three!

Me: …..

Leave a Reply

